‘A little altered example of an early-mid 19th century farmhouse, with good quality exterior detailing, which forms part of a significant group of buildings and monuments in the centre of Long Marston village’. It is a square building in purple-red brick with red brick details under a pyramid roof covered in Welsh slate; the front is symmetrical, with central door under a fanlight, and central window above <1>. It stands at the end of Chapel Lane by the remains of the parish church, at the entrance to the churchyard.
The 1878 map shows the house accompanied by ranges of farm buildings around three sides of a farmyard, the house at the NW corner. Later mapping shows the same arrangement in more detail, the yard open to the street. Most of these buildings survive. The south range is a 16th century timber-framed and weatherboarded barn, a tall structure five bays long with central double doorway. ‘The roof construction is unique in this part of Herts’.